Review – Braders Kompang

As the months go by and the henna on my fingernails fade, I’ve become seriously lazy to continue updating this blog. The semangat kahwin planning has long faded away. But I shall press on, for the sake of preserving memories and benefiting BTBs who are still sourcing.

So as I mentioned in my previous post, I was in two minds about kompang. It is so cost-ineffective but whenever I got to weddings, my heart skips a beat everytime I hear the beats signalling the arrival of the couple. Hence I still went around asking for quotes – it seems that the market price is now $600+ onwards for one-way,

One of those that replied was Braders Kompang, a relatively new group but it seems they are up and coming. They followed up with me when I was undecided and said they could work around my budget alhamdulilah. We settled on a price, and I did the bank transfer for the deposit in December.

Now this is where I got annoyed since I had to chase after them for the e-invoice with no response. Finally I got it in February, with the excuse being laptop malfunction. Ok so nearer our wedding date, we texted the Braders I/C to meet him at the venue since the kompang group can’t play inside the mosque, and we need to determine the best route. We didn’t get a reply either, so we called the 2nd contact person listed on the e-invoice to confirm that they would actually turn up on the day itself. =X

Well, they came early and despite all the hiccups with the earlier arrangements, things went well on the day and I must say their silat and qasidah was really well performed. We managed to work around the restrictions, and did the silat + kompang outside the entrance of the mosque.

349firdausXnorhana-.jpg

Well, I’d still recommend them, if you don’t mind the delay in replies (my husband’s sis decided to get them, and she’s also facing the same issue). They are good despite not being that established yet, and I can see that they have been getting lots of bookings. I’m also grateful that they were willing to accommodate to my budget – so thank you Braders Kompang. 🙂

Updated: I understand that Braders Kompang has now some management issues and people are not getting responses after placing deposits. According to their FB page comments, some police reports have been lodged. I’d caution against engaging them first and take a wait and see approach. 

12 comments

  1. Hi Ive been reading your blog! A bit too late but congrats on your wedding! Hopefully you’ll continue updating cause I’m waiting for your bridal review since Im taking the same bridal as yours! hehe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

