Review: Wedding Cakes by Salwah Omar

I left the cake ordering to the last minute, as I also wasn’t sure if I wanted one – but I admit it added to the decor, especially if you coordinate the colors. Kak Salwah was my choice after I asked for help in one of my posts. I really liked her past works, and she was within my budget too.

In general, the budget conscious brides can try home bakers, as their costs tend to be lower as they won’t have to pass their overhead expenses to you.  Fondant is more expensive and not as tasty as cream, but I feel that the finished look gives a more elegant look. So I ordered a two-tier cake fondant cake from her, and requested for a lilac number to match the decor.

cake.jpeg

I’m happy with how it turned out – and I think two tier is just nice as we were able to give out the cake to relatives present. The flavours we chose were chocolate salted caramel and raspberry ivoire. So delicious and the sweetness level was just right.

Tip: Don’t wait too long to give out the cake. After cake-cutting, just inform your orang kuat to start giving them out already. Have tapao containers ready under the table so you can distribute everything.

Kak Salwah does baking classes too. I’m keen to sign up for one of them!

3 comments

  1. My brother’s wedding cake was from Salwah Omar too! He chose fondant too and I thought the fondant was actually tasty hahaha we ate the cake AND the fondant. Your cake looks so pretty

    Like

      1. Nah, I’m going for pulut kuning cos we are not a sweet-toothed couple hehe but I really wouldn’t mind eating another cake from her hahaha #gatal

        Like

Leave a Reply

