Step by step we will get there

Sometimes when I read the blogs of those BTBs who I’ve been following and see that they have passed their nikah journey, I’m happy for them and also kind of jealous.. because I can’t wait to get this planning over and done with!

The closer the date, the more challenges. Its true what they say about the increased pressure and drama. Some things I need to overcome:

  • Hantaran issues
  • Slow replies from certain vendors – how long do you all wait for replies ah? Not sure if I have high expectations because of work, but I think 3 days is the maximum
  • Budgeting. Feeling broke after paying for bridal room stuff.
  • Doing all these planning at night when tired after work
  • Pointless opinions
  • Confused over itinerary and programme flow

My mum always nags at us for being last minute, but I’m glad also because she makes sure all the timelines are on track. My bridal room makeover is on track – bought bedroom set, mattress and confirmed my wallpaper color. Only left bedsheet and curtains, which I’m looking out at all the sales now.

Also just confirmed my berkat tonight. But hey, this was quite a headache trying to think of something beyond the usual towels/forkandspoons/honey/redondo etc. In the end I settled for halal bakes from  Whipped Love  who I found by searching for #berkat in Instagram. Not having any children’s berkat because they can eat the sweet stuff too. Been a pleasure dealing with this vendor, who’s quite prompt!

I like dealing with people who’s hungry for my money. Those that take money and then shake leg afterward – really feel like naming and shaming them. Yes. don’t pecah periuk nasi orang, but seriously we also have hard-earned money that we entrust to them too. -_-

Also met my tunang’s uncle who runs his own catering business too – we’ve decided to engage him since its easier to liaise with someone from his family. InsyaAllah the food will be good.

I hope to confirm my videography and cake vendor this week. And maybe the transport next week (last resort will be to book a Grab Coach at $65/trip). Decided not to have henna or photobooth, but now I’m itching to have some sort of interesting live station or desert corner lol.

Slowly but surely, we will get there..

Leave a Reply

