Revamping the bridal room

As I won’t be buying a new home for the time being, my tunang will be moving in with me. Hence its important to spruce up the room I’ll be using.

I  had sourced for some quotes for bridal room decor, and they’re not cheap considering the impermanence of it all. Discussed with my mum and we decided to invest in a proper bedroom set that will last years.

Thought about this for awhile, and finally headed to Home Wellness Furniture (that furniture shop in the corner of Joo Chiat Complex) which has quite value for money stuff there. Looked around and decided on a bedroom set consisting: a bedframe, 2 doors sliding wardrobe with mirror, 1 side table and 1 dresser with stool.

cupboard.jpg

The side table and cupboard with mirror

I chose everything in white, but the bedframe will be brown because its a more practical colour. The whole set would have cost $3000+ for the separate pieces in total, but the package costs me $21XX inclusive of delivery. Thought it was a pretty good deal since the set had everything I wanted and provided enough storage space for my needs.

I chose delivery in April because I need to do something about my walls first. Debated again on paint vs wallpaper, and I’ve decided on wallpaper because I wanted a textured  finish which paint couldn’t quite achieve. The makcik at the furniture shop referred us to a wallpaper shop in Joo Chiat Complex and we popped by to see the selection.

The apek showed us his latest collection of Korean wallpapers, and so cantik! Together with workmanship costs and depending on which range we take, it can cost between $750 – $900 for a bedroom. More ex than painting my room DIY off course, but it has the desired effect I want. So next step is to come back to his shop with a measurement, and carefully choose the colors that would complement the  bedroom set.

The other pressing issue is the mattress. I’m wiling to invest in this, because sleep quality is really important. So I’m looking at the big brands first. Heard Mattress Centre has a good collection, so will probably look there too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

