Kursus done!

apkim

Allah will exalt those of you who believe, and those who are given knowledge, in high degrees; and Allah is Aware of what you do.

(Surah Al Mujadilah 58:11)

As I was clearing my leave this week, I opted for APKIM’s one day course today. Frankly I was a bit tired as I had just returned from my holiday in Sarawak, and couldn’t absorb as much as I would have liked. But at least the whole day wasn’t boring and I didn’t regret choosing APKIM at all.

The first half of the morning where we had a personal session with a counselor, Puan S was very beneficial because we were able to express our hopes, fears and worries to her. We basically threw aside the book (seriously the course materials really need a refresh as its too generic) and she asked us to hone in on the topics we specifically wanted to know about. So namely we discussed on three things – financial/nafkah, proper upbringing of the children and dealing with the mertuas.

I really liked this approach because we could ask her specific personal questions for our current situation, like a pre-marriage counselling session. It was an eye-opener as she related the various mahkamah cases (affairs – pakcik ada bini no 2 in Malaysia or arguing with the mertuas over trivial things like soap) that are happening in the community now. I also like how there’s a strong religious slant, as iman is the strongest foundation of any marriage.

We ended at around 12 15, for solat and lunch break. The 2nd half was with Cik R, and there was only one other couple around. I enjoy intimate settings like these because I learn more this way rather than go through the whole split into group brainstorm sessions. The syllabus was quite basic – love language, DISC personality, nafkah etc. but it was a pretty insightful session as well.

However I think one day could be quite rushed, as he was skipping certain portions, so those who want to be more detailed could opt for the two day workshop. Think they were rushing to end on the dot at 6pm. Anyway once the course ended, we also headed to nearby North Bridge Road to collect our pre-wedding photoshoot album frames (so happy with the end product!)

I’m glad this is over, so we can go down for the ROMM interview next week insyaAllah. Off course the learning never stops, and we always have to learn and adapt to our other half.

I may also be going for this Diary Tok Kadi series – looks interesting!

 

diarytokkadi

Leave a Reply

