Gubahan checked!

Thanks to all the lovely folks who gave their advice on gubahan.. i now know so much more!

While the tunang has spare dulangs and a family who can DIY them, I have to outsource mine, as my side is totally not crafty at all (I failed art in school, true story).

After looking around, I decided on D’ Perfection Gifts and Services. Kak Ain is nice and generally responsive to my endless questions. I’ve decided to do three dulangs with her, and may top up one more later. Need to choose the colors soon.. the basic is satin, and I can upgrade if I decide on a songket or mirror based one.

Actually what really got me to engage her was the mini tanjaks for the bunga rampai she does! Soooo cute! I love how she injects traditional elements, and have placed orders for this as well.

mini-tanjak-rampais

I had no choice, but to order sireh dara also because my mum thinks its important to declare to everyone that I’m an anak dara. But okay lah, this would add to the vibrancy of the pelamin decor. In this case, it would be good for the groom’s side to prepare a sireh junjung for exchange as well.

Kak Ain does bunga pahar too, which is good should my mother suddenly decide she wants to do this tradition also.

bunga pahar.jpg

I found Zzany’s blog entry on Malay wedding traditions an insightful read on the significance of all these elements. However to keep the walimah simple and to respect my mosque venue, I would not be having things that could potentially be kecoh like hadang. With a combined wedding, a lot of these traditions are also not necessary. I am envisioning a simple walk-in without any fanfare, since kompang is only allowed up to the masjid entrance.

Lastly, does anyone know which vendors provide bridal room decor? Our Midas Touch is good, but over my budget. RibbonsNTies is super unresponsive, despite a few emails and message to them. Any help in this area is much appreciated, since my room is rather unfit to be a bridal room at the moment. ;p

One comment

Leave a Reply

