Reality Cheque

There was this recent article lately in New Paper about wedding costs ballooning. There was an interview with a Malay couple who spent $33K for a MPH wedding. I was like… really?? Then I calculated my current costs after tabulating all the major vendors, and we are reaching around there already for our planned CC wedding. Even for a combined wedding and factoring in duit salam money, the final costs seems excessive.

Unfortunately we can’t do away with the majlis as both of us are the oldest child in the family. However we can try to manage the guest list since catering is a huge chunk. This social media generation doesn’t help too – we get carried away with glossy photos of lawa brides, beautiful venues and emo cinematic videos. And before you know it, your wedding budget expands like a balloon.

Being a relatively old bride (early 30’s..what to do, met my jodoh late ;p), I’ve learnt over the years how important it is to have spare cashflow for emergencies and ensuring adequate protection through insurance policies (esp healthcare). I’m glad that my tunang and I agree that investment is a must (but shariah compliant). So the rule of thumb is to have an emergency savings buffer of 6 months pay, and nothing less. We shouldn’t spend so much on the wedding till bank account kosong. Because the economy now is quite gloomy and predicted to get worse. We need to constantly doa that pintu rezeki will always be open to us.

Although the other half is same age as me, he only started working for a couple of years as he went a long journey from ITE – poly – degree, while I took the shorter route. So I don’t want to burden him as he has other financial commitments to take care off too. Both of us are also as the age where we are supporting our parents already.

But having said that, we can’t compromise costs for quality too (what if the pelamin roboh?). So things like catering, bridal and photography can invest more. Smaller things that are transient like henna don’t have to get the big names. Keep a close eye out for promotions if haven’t booked that particular service yet.  Please share if there’s other ways to save costs too. 🙂

15 comments

  1. I totally understand what you mean! I feel the pinch too. Despite talking with the parents and my partner, we cant seem to find any where to cut cost 😦 alot of factors need to be considered which is very taxing. Compromising is very important tho esp with parents from both side. But most importantly as long as you and your partner is happy, thats all that matters. Theres no need to compare prices. Whatever youre doing is perfectly fineee 🙆🙆🙆🙆 press onnnnn babe 😘

    Like

  2. Hey! Thanks for following, I really like reading your posts! I agree with the above and think another way of cutting costs is to DIY! My partner and I are considering doing the bridal room decor, berkat, wedding cards ourselves. There needs to be extensive research and lots of time and effort but I think you’ll feel better knowing that it was your blood, sweat and tears which led to your special day!

    Like

    1. Thanks babe! Considered DIY too, but me and my family are utterly talentless in hands-on stuff and crafts and it’ll end up looking like failed art projects hahaha. But yes, lets manage expectations and we can probably save quite a bit if we’re resourceful enough and look for alternatives 😉

      Like

      1. I’m talentless at hands-on stuff too but managed to learn some stuff from youtube to DIY my gift trays for my engagement (but after that I serik already, don’t want to DIY anything anymore hahah). One BTB I know was considering to use SkillsFuture credit to take up crafting or flower arrangement.

        DIY may be a good way to cut costs but have to be careful of not going over-the-top. DIY may not necessarily mean cheaper. And it’s super tiring too. Can consider it for some stuff but not all.

        Like

  3. I agree with your post! I know of an acquaintance who spent $60K on a voiddeck wedding. And this was many years ago! Definitely excessive, IMO.

    One other suggestion to cut costs is to ask friends to help for stuff that you’re not very particular with regarding the quality. E.g. photography buffs, or friends from design schools who can design your card, or friends that you know are good at make-up.

    As for promotions, it’s good to attend wedding expos which are usually every year in January & September.

    Like

    1. Btw (so sorry for flooding you with comments haha) you mentioned that you took up insurance and investments that are sharia-compliant? Mind sharing? I’ve been looking for those too. Thanks in advance! (:

      Like

      1. Hey! Basically its my other half whos more into the investments..so it would be putting money into stocks that do not dabble into haram business etc. To be frank, i am also prob not the best person to advice..there are financial courses by ustazs which i have been meaning to attend. Will let you know when i come across the next one!

        Like

    2. Yah good tips! I think have to lower expectations on certain things already esp as my other half is a bit worried if paying the full amt for catering after the majlis would wipe out his savings. So we are gonna try and slash the guest list also. At least our parents are chill about this and pretty much leave us to do what we want.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. we were a very budget conscious couple! we only sorta splurged on catering, bridal and decor. the rest all cheap cheap ones. didn’t even have photobooth, pasal mahal. bende additional were contributed by our family members. i didnt even want to have kompang! but my sister kindly sponsored. tapi eh, i would recommend you to budget much higher. because eventually we burst our initial budget of $30k.

    Like

    1. Thanks babe! Yah it does look like I have to adjust higher. Everything adds up to so much! I was hoping to do without the adat2 stuff like the sirehs, but mum wants it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

